check out the new remote control Jockey Wheel SmartBar Canegrowers rearview170 Cobb Grill Skid Row Recovery Gear Caravan Industry Association of Australia
Members Login
Username 
 
Password 
    Remember Me  
Post Info TOPIC: calder caravan park mildura beware


Member

Status: Offline
Posts: 7
Date:
calder caravan park mildura beware


calder caravan park mildura victoria
We were extremelly disgusted with this park

We stayed in two bedroom delux cabin (not cheap)

It was absolutally filthy and the people who run this park would have to be the rudest people i have ever met in my life.

I could not believe that the racv have rated this park as 4 1/2 star

the first thing we noticed was when we went to go up the stairs to get in the cabin the stairs were broken and they swung sideways to the point were they were dangerous

Then we had trouble opening the door because the door handle was half hanging off

after we finally got in we started to unpack i placed my 12 month old grandson on the floor he crawled around for about  5 min until i noticed his knees hands and tops of his feet were absolutally filthy  (and i mean black)

I went to open one of the bedroom doors and the handle fell off

I looked in the bathroom and around the bottom of the walls and in the corners of the showers there was clumps of old dried up hair and gunge

Then to my disgust i looked at the bed and there was dried feaces on the doona cover.

As we had already paid for two nights i went to see the owners and asked if they could send a cleaner to clean our cabin which did not happen so we cleaned it ourselves this was the beginning of the nightmare i though i was already in.

I was wrong because it got much much worse after this. As we had gone to mildura on holiday because we have family living there they came to the park it is very hot in mildura so we all sat outside our cabin to have a few drinks and catch up at 10.30pm a security gaurd turned up and asked our visitors to leave he said he had recieved a phone call from the owners that there were a group of people in the park who did not belong and all visitors to the park have to be out by 10pm mind you our visitors were my daughter and her husband a four year old who was asleep in the cabin and a six week old who was asleep in a pram beside us. We were not making any noise and the next day i asked the other people staying around us if we had disturbed them and they all said they did not even hear us at all even the security gaurd said he did not understand why they had called him he said usally the only time he gets called is when there are people causing trouble and being loud

After this i read through the rules of the park from cover to cover and not once did it state guest must be out of the park by 10pm so i asked the owners the next morning and they said in the rules it states all noise must cease at 10 pm and that means the same thing as all guests must leave by 10pm they also said they didnt call the security gaurd they just do random checks on there own. I explained that he had told us that they had called him so they amended there statement and admitted that they had called. I couldnt believe it i didnt understand why they didnt just come and see us themselves instead of calling security.

It gets worse though at 5pm we were sitting at the pool with my daughter and her family who had come back to see us when the owner comes in and starts abusing us his words were whats your f###ing problem mate dont you understand what rules are.  Are you stupid or something pack your stuff up and get out of my park your out get out right now i have called security they will be here soon to escort you out now p###off mind you he was yelling at the top of his lungs it was very embarassing

You see we had broken the rules my daughter had taken my grandaughter swimming and they were not paying guests and the rules stated no non paying guests to swim in pool

And my husband was consuming a beer at the pool and there was no alcohol allowed in pool area which we admit was wrong but he was not intoxicated and we were not loud or causing any problems

Yes we had broken the rules and the security guard turned up and we were made to leave we asked for our money back for the night we still had left but they refused to give our money back and they were not polite about it either he likes to swear alot. $220 of our money down the drain and not a thing we could do about it we left the park

One positive note though i am so proud of my husband after being sworn at being called stupid and totally embarassed in front of other guests in the park he kept his cool i could see he was fuming with anger but he stayed polite and never raised his voice even when this horrible person was waving his finger in his face and yelling. In my book that makes him a better man than that monster who runs the Calder caravan park in mildura victoria.

My conclusion is that this all happened because we complained about how filthy our cabin was.

Thank you for listening. writing this has made me feel a sense of release this would have to have been the worst experience i have ever had it was very traumatic for myself and my family



__________________

Life is a Journey
You are the traveller.
Your thoughts directs, Your way in the journey.
Your virtue will be the fodder for your thoughts
Which directs your way in the journey


Newbie

Status: Offline
Posts: 1
Date:

Thanks so much for your post. We will make sure we don't go there on any of our trips.

Have you sent this to the RACV? They need to know otherwise more people will get stung.

Berny

__________________


Member

Status: Offline
Posts: 7
Date:

hi berny yes i have sent this to racv i will paste what they sent back 22nd feb
Dear Mrs May

Thank you for your email regarding feedback on the Calder Caravan Park in
Mildura. I have forwarded this information on to the accommodation
assessors to be taken into account for the property's next assessment.

To advise other travellers of your experience, why don't you complete the
online accommodation survey available at racv.travel. All you need to do
is answer a few simple questions and then these results will be displayed
under "guest reviews" when viewing the property details.

To complete the survey go to the travel section of the RACV website -
racv.travel - then click on accommodation. On the right hand side under
"member satisfaction" it has a link called "my say". This then links you
through to the online survey. (please see below for where this is
located).


(Embedded image moved to file: pic18467.jpg)

Kind regards

Naomi Curtis
Tourism Product & Sales Coordinator
Wednesday - Friday
RACV Tourism & Travel

Royal Automobile Club of Victoria (RACV) Limited LTA 30752
Level 2, 550 Princes Highway
Noble Park North Victoria 3174 Australia

Telephone 03 9703 6056
Facsimile 03 9790 2844



__________________

Life is a Journey
You are the traveller.
Your thoughts directs, Your way in the journey.
Your virtue will be the fodder for your thoughts
Which directs your way in the journey


Senior Member

Status: Offline
Posts: 107
Date:

Thanks for this very "frank" report on this park.  Apart from the fact that I and many others will no longer consider this park when staying in Mildura, I believe the report should also be sent to Top Tourist Parks as it appears this park is part of that chain. Can anyone let me know how this can be done? They should be made aware of this report.

__________________


Member

Status: Offline
Posts: 5
Date:

Thank you we to will stay clear of there in ower trip there this year ind i will pass it on regards PAT.

__________________
P L Hayes


Veteran Member

Status: Offline
Posts: 27
Date:

Peak hill caravan park another park you want to drive past
dont think the showers and toilets had been cleaned for a week
normally dont use parks but needed to see the doc in Peak hill and decided to stay in town for the night.

__________________
Live life to the fullest as you have no idea how long you are going to be here to enjoy the greatest country on earth.


Newbie

Status: Offline
Posts: 1
Date:

In reply to this post, I fail to believe the bagging of Calder Caravan Park. We have stayed at Calder many times over the years the recent being Easter 2008, we have our own van and have also stayed in the extremenly CLEAN Cabins at Calder. We have been returning to this park because it is clean and quiet. Grace and Ian are very very friendly park managers and bend over backwards to make sure everyone is comfortable and happy within the park. Those  who are regulars in Caravan Parks know that 10pm is the limit for noise and partying, if partying is what you want don't stay in Caravan Parks. From my experience everywhere I have been grey nomads as they call us have Happy Hour from 5-7pm and retire early, hence the quiet time after 10pm. Also alcohol is not tolerated in any swimming pool in ANY Caravan Park we have stayed in Australia wide, read the signs. As far as RACV posting to this on one persons opinion then we will not be using RACV or buying their guides again. Before you make your decision on this Caravan Park go and see for yourself. Also Calder does have a Securiy gaurd doing the rounds after hours. this helps stop the noisy people making it unbearable for those wanting peace and quiet. This makes us holidaying people want to come back to nice quiet clean Caravan Parks with clean ammeneties and friendly park managers. 

__________________
Ian


Newbie

Status: Offline
Posts: 2
Date:

g/da all, i am the owner of this park. It is funny that some people will go to any lenghts to justify themselves, as the case with the McNicols from Creswick. these people were told to leave my park because because of a range of reasons, most of wich were not mentioned in the issuing comments. they had booked 2 cabins. paying for 7 people, not 15 as were there, they started drinking about 2 in the afternnon and my security guys spoke to them at 11.38 not 10.00 as stated, they abused my staff and they parked their vistors cars in the park blocking access roads, they took glass and alchol in the pool area and they had vistors use my facilties without paying. and as for the statements regards the cabin, they were in there for nearly 2 days and did not report anything,until i told them to leave. if i had booked a cabin and it was in disgrace as they stated, i would not stay 5 mins, nor would anybody. Also they is no mention of one of their party, making life threating remarks to me, which we have reported to the Police and they are still investigating. for those who have made judgement, this is the other side of the story, now you have the right to make a judgment.

__________________
483341


Member

Status: Offline
Posts: 7
Date:

well ian i,m glad you have seen this post and i like how you started 
 It is funny that some people will go to any lenghts to justify themselves,
as this is the case with you. nobody but paying guests stayed in our cabins we had family come and visit us at the park and then left to stay in there own homes.
the cabins were filthy and run down and i complained long before you rudely and very loudly asked us to leave and i still believe this is the reason this happened in the first place
we complained to your wife about the state of the cabins and she asked us if we were going out i replied we were going shopping she said she would send the cleaner in while we were out that was the first day not as you stated we didn't complain till after we were asked to leave mind you when we got back they were still the same.
as for using the amenities with out paying yes my daughter took her 4 year old in the pool.
the visitors car that was in the park was my daughters she drove it in so she could get her new born out of the car it never blocked anyone and it was then taken out of the park then when they were leaving she did the same thing.
as for one of my party making life threatening remarks i spoke to the police in mildura and apparentlly a young teenage boy came in and said to you to give our money back or your dead meat it turns out it was one of the kids belonging to the people we were visiting and the polieman said to tell him to pull his head in and they were not going to follow it any further we knew nothing of this or condon it he has been duelly reprimanded
also if we were such drunks as you made us out to be after you asked us to leave my husband would not have been able to drive his 71yo mother and 74yo father back home that day.
we were never loud or caused any trouble we asked all the people around us and they all said they never even heard us
i put it to you sir that you were the only person who was being rude and abusive not to mention you ripped us off over $200
and now we can add liar as well
as for posting my personal details i think that goes against the ettiqute of this forum

__________________

Life is a Journey
You are the traveller.
Your thoughts directs, Your way in the journey.
Your virtue will be the fodder for your thoughts
Which directs your way in the journey
Page 1 of 1  sorted by
 
Quick Reply

Please log in to post quick replies.

Tweet this page Post to Digg Post to Del.icio.us
Purchase Grey Nomad bumper stickers Read our daily column, the Nomad News The Grey Nomad's Guidebook